2021

Hello everyone, and happy new year!

It’s been a long time since I’ve posted anything here, but I figured it was time to give it another go. I attempted to write several posts in 2020, but they all just seemed so insignificant with everything going on. I know that 2021 didn’t just make all of those things disappear, but to be honest I missed writing so here I am.

I’m not sure about you, but the new year really snuck up on me. It wasn’t until glancing at my phone on Dec. 31 that I even realized it was new years eve. I was having a hard time grasping that Christmas had come and gone so it was extremely shocking to find the year was over. I normally take the time between Christmas and NYE to reflect over the past year, but it’s really been over the last couple of days that I’ve thought about 2020.

I think we can all agree that it was a long, crazy, and emotional year. It brought a lot of unexpected, and it’s made me rethink the whole saying of I’m ready for whatever the new year brings. I was not ready for a lot of what 2020 brought to us. With all of that being said, I feel 2020 still had a decent amount of good in it.

As I reflected on the year I found myself actually wanting to bring a lot of what 2020 taught me into the new year. I learned a lot, but if anything it was the reminders that it brought me that stood out the most. I forgot how much I loved reading, learning new things, being outside, listening to music, crafting, and even to an extent writing. I found all of those things again in 2020, and so I’m grateful for that. The year showed me that it’s okay to slow down, and take time for those things. It also helped me to realize that a lot of the time “too busy” was really just me spending too much time on my phone. I hope to take all of that into 2021 with me as I feel it was too important of a lesson to abandon.

Now it’s time to look forward to this new year that we’re in. I like to try to set a few goals to focus on each year, and this year is no different. My main goal every year is to try my best to learn and grow as much as possible during the year. I try to stay intentional about being open to the lessons that are brought my way. I also always try to work on doing things that help me mentally. I try to have one thing that I really focus on for the year outside of those continuous goals as well though.

After reflecting there’s one thing that really stood out to me that I would like to work on this year. My goal for 2021 is to work on not doubting myself so much. It’s funny I came to that conclusion a few days ago, and ever since I’ve been seeing little quotes here and there that pertain to that subject. It’s like it’s meant to be. I would most definitely say that I’m an overthinker. Sometimes that’s a good thing, and other times not so much. You know how they say you’re your own worst critic? That’s definitely true for me.

So that’s my goal this year is to be open to trying or doing things even if I feel it’s something I can’t do. To realize that I may not be phenomenal at something right away, but that’s fine. Some things take time, and that’s completely okay. Not being able to do something well right away doesn’t mean I’m a terrible person or anything.

I’m not going to say I’m prepared for everything this year brings, but I’m ready to take it day by day at least. I’m ready to try my best to appreciate every moment I’m given, and to be open to growing as a person. I’m ready for new memories, and new opportunities. I’m ready to work on my goals. So let’s go 2021! Please be kind to us.

I just want to say thanks for reading my post. Hope you all had a great holiday season, and are staying safe! I’d love to hear from you on what you learned in 2020 or what your goals for 2021 are. So feel free to comment below! Have a great day, and thanks again for checking out what I have to say!

-Ashley


Leave a comment