Ormond Beach 2017

Hi everyone!

I’m back! Sorry I’ve been MIA for the past 2 weeks, but life happens! I hope everyone is doing well, and loving life! A week ago today I was enjoying my last day of being on 2017’s family vacation, and I’m missing it so much right now! I don’t know about everyone else, but some of my favorite times come from vacations with my family! I figured I’d give y’all a little insight to our amazing trip, and share some of the songs that are a must on our Florida playlist!

I’m not sure about everyone else, but to me the night before vacation is like the night before Christmas! I get so excited, and run my packing checklist through my head over and over again to make sure I have everything. We always leave early on a Saturday morning, and after a few stops finally arrive at the beach Saturday afternoon. We always have the best time traveling to the beach, and I wanted to share some of our favorite things about vacation with ya’ll!  These all come after sunscreen because #palepeopleproblems!!

One of the most important parts for my family and I is the music! We all adore music, and we all want to make sure we have a good playlist for the long ride. The past few years I’ve been in charge of getting the playlists together! It’s always fun and a little hectic getting the music together. The one thing that’s consistent for every year’s playlists is the 80’s music. I don’t know what it is, but we can’t seem to go to the beach and not listen to the 80’s. While we have some songs that are always a must we also have new one’s to add every year! I think this year’s list is probably one of my favorites we’ve had in a while! Lot’s of awesome new stuff to hear, and jam to while on a long drive! We have one song in particular that’s always on the list every year though, and that’s “Boys of Summer” by Don Henley. That’s become THE Florida song, and we can’t go to the beach without listening to it at least a few times. While there were many songs on the list you can check out the picture below to see a few of the must have’s for this year! download.jpeg

Next up on that list of important things is food!! I love food so much, and honestly it always seems so much better when you’re on vacation! There are a few places my family, and I always go to. We did branch out this year though, and tried a couple of new places. The first night of vacation is always reserved for Stavro’s! If you’ve never been there you are missing out. Their pizza is so good, and normally by the end of the week we’ve eaten there at least twice! This year must have just been a year for pizza places! We gave Bruno’s pizza a try this year, and I got their Chicken Parmesan! It was amazing, and it came with a lot! The dinner I ordered came with a salad, bread, and a container full of chicken and pasta! I can’t wait to hopefully eat there again next year! We always do Red Lobster every year as well. This year though we also gave a new seafood place a try! We went, and tried out Hull’s seafood. I got the fish and chips, and loved them! Also can’t forget that we made 2 stops for Krispy Kreme during the week, and we all ate so many donuts! Also ice cream from Hershey’s! I’m always down for some amazing cotton candy ice cream!  Basically it was a week full of amazing food that I can’t stop thinking about! It’s a good thing I was at the beach getting a lot of exercise so I didn’t gain too much extra weight!

Speaking of exercise, I said I needed to move to the beach because I’m much more active there than at home. Normally exercise would not be on my important things list even though it should be. It’s just being active at the beach is so much more fun! I love walking down the beach because 1. there’s beautiful scenery, and 2. it gives me time to think and clear my head. Then obviously I love going for a swim in the pool. It was so nice this year because we basically always had the pool to ourselves! Lastly, my favorite part is riding the waves on my boogie board. I was a little worried because last year there weren’t really any good riding waves so we spent most of it just floating around. This year there some tremendous ones to ride! I love catching a wave that makes you kind of feel like you’re flying, and I got that this year! Also had some wipe outs though. I ended up getting knocked down 3 times in less than 5 minutes one day. For the rest of the day I couldn’t stop singing “I get knocked down, but I get up again” (Tubthumping by Chumbawamba). I definitely got a face full of water a few times, but it was so worth it for the amazing waves I caught.

Basically the week was filled with amazing music, great food, lots of exercise, and just a great time with family. I wouldn’t trade that week for anything. I’m so thankful I got that time with my family, and for all the amazing new memories! If you follow me on Instagram or Twitter you’ve probably been able to tell I miss it a lot! Sorry not sorry for all the posts about it, and you can probably expect to see more as the days go by! Already looking forward to next year’s vacation, and all that it brings!

Hope everyone is doing well, and has had a great past few weeks! You can look below for a slide show of pictures from my vacation! Also hope you have enjoyed getting a little insight into what vacation with my family is like! I’m curious, if you go on family vacation’s where do you go? Do you have any traditions or songs you have to hear? Maybe you haven’t been on vacation in a while, but you have a memory from a past vacation. I’d love to hear from you! Comment below, or you can get in touch with me (@ashnouterspace) on both Twitter, and Instagram! Have a great week everyone, and see you next Friday!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 


One thought on “Ormond Beach 2017

Leave a comment